Formed in 1994 by singer Nathan Gray, guitarists Josh Latshaw and Chad Istvan, bassist Darrell Hyde, and drummer Matt Krupanski, Boysetsfire marries old-school hardcore with melodic, punk-rock hooks and politically charged, socially conscious lyrics. The band released their debut full-length, The Day the Sun Went Out, in 1997, and soon captured the attention of a loyal fanbase, thanks to their intense live shows and their passionate, left-wing messages. Following a successful run with the Vans Warped Tour, the group released their sophomore effort, 2000’s After the Eulogy, which Kerrang! magazine describes as “one of the most formidable records of its time.”